USDA Designates 21 Wisconsin Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

USDA Designates 21 Wisconsin Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

Emergency Support to Producers in Surrounding Counties/Border States Also Available

WASHINGTON, July 31, 2019 — Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue designated 21 Wisconsin counties as primary natural disaster areas. Producers who suffered losses due to winterkill, rain, freezing rain, cold and snow that occurred between Jan. 1 and May 31, 2019, may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans.

The Wisconsin counties with the primary natural disaster designation include Barron, Chippewa, Clark, Dunn, Eau Claire, Florence, Forest, Langlade, Lincoln, Marathon, Marinette, Oconto, Oneida, Pierce, Portage, Price, Rusk, St. Croix, Sawyer, Taylor, and Wood.

This natural disaster designation allows FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

Producers in the contiguous Wisconsin counties of Adams, Ashland, Bayfield, Brown, Buffalo, Burnett, Douglas, Iron, Jackson, Juneau, Menominee, Pepin, Polk, Shawano, Trempealeau, Vilas, Washburn, Waupaca, and Waushara, along with Dickinson, Iron, and Menominee counties in Michigan, and Dakota, Goodhue, and Washington counties in Minnesota, are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is March 25, 2020.

FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

FSA has a variety of additional programs to help farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster. FSA programs that do not require a disaster declaration include: Emergency Assistance for Livestock, Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program; Emergency Conservation Program; Livestock Forage Disaster Program; Livestock Indemnity Program; Operating and Farm Ownership Loans; and the Tree Assistance Program.

Farmers may contact their local USDA service center for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at